Assisi…a new (mini) adventure begins : )

Hello!

I’m back : ) Not really an adventure as such this time as my last two blogs have been…but this time more of an indulgence!

I’ve been so interested for such a long time in the Assisi area and on discovering there was a pilgrims route which traversed this region way back in the Middle Ages, I felt compelled to follow my curiosity : ) From what I can gather the traditional route started from Venice…or more realistically from ones front door and ran down through the eastern part of Italy, through Assisi..ending in Roma.
Assisi was very important in this route as it was the birth place and home of Saint Francis.. who was much loved and although he lived only into his early 20’s, his impact was enormous.

My walking buddy Jo and I met this morning in Assisi with much enjoyment..it’s so good to be reunited in an environment where we both share a close bond and passionate interest : )
In Melbourne we attempt to catch up regularly but as we both have close knit families, often other commitments get in the way and time seems to evaporate with life’s day to day activities.

20130604-225847.jpg

The small city of Assisi is dedicated to the life and indeed after life, of Francis of Assisi. Everywhere, it seems, his short life is revered. Today, we have spent time.. and tomorrow in fact.. we will spend more time, exploring this absolutely stunning village. There is a palpable spiritualism about this area….and as you are aware if you have read other blogs of mine…I’m not religious in the conventional sense but have a strong attachment to a spiritual world beyond that in which we live…… : )

20130604-231351.jpg
Looking back on the beautiful sights of Assisi.

20130604-231517.jpg

20130604-232212.jpg

20130604-232244.jpg

20130604-232401.jpg

20130604-232440.jpg

20130604-232539.jpg

Jo and I have only a few short days this time to experience a new adventure, so we decided to plan our walk through a small tour company. We will have our luggage transported and our accommodation booked but we are intending to follow part of the Camino de Assisi but also our intention is to walk the most beautiful routes that were important for St Francis de Assisi.

As always, I feel so privileged to be able to experience these special moments that life offers us…
Much more to come tomorrow…I hope : )

Love to all

Netia X

This entry was posted in Italy....Umbria and Tuscany 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Assisi…a new (mini) adventure begins : )

  1. Don Kenagy says:

    I’m actually receiving your blog on the iPhone! I guess I’ve mastered WordPress! Looking forward to more.

  2. Lisa Philips says:

    I was so excited to see that you had started another blog. I loved following you on your last journey. I would love to do a walk one day so I find you very inspiring. I wish you safe and happy travels.

  3. Treasa B, Phoenix, AZ says:

    I am so happy you are blogging again. Happy travels

  4. You are amazing Netia. Hope you guys enjoy every bit of it:)

  5. Karin Openheart says:

    I’m looking forward to following your journey as I will be doing it myself in 2 months.

  6. wheresnetia says:

    Thank you all for your comments : )
    Karin, where are you walking from?

  7. Elizete says:

    Happy trails! Hope all goes well and you get to enjoy it thoroughly. Much love xxx

  8. Beautiful photos! Safe travels.

  9. walkmag says:

    Two Happy smiling sunny walkers.., thankyou for sharing

Leave a Reply

