Santiago and a little way to Finisterre

Hi Everyone!

Well here I am, just had a big breakfast…pondering the end of my Camino and indeed this blog: )
It has been the most wonderful 5 weeks and I know it’ll stay with me for a long time to come and hopefully the lessons I’ve learned along the way will be with me forever….

It was with great enthusiasm yesterday, that I pulled on my special boots: ) and set of down the track towards Finisterre.

I’d had a lovely night the night before, having dinner with a few from the UK, one of whom was Niall,who started this walk on the same day as me from St Jean. Niall,had decided also to keep walking but was going to walk all the way to Finisterre.

20110930-041756.jpg

I ended up walking about 22 kms yesterday and I had a really special day! I’m so glad that I had realised that the Camino for me was not quite finished.
My arrival in Santiago had been wonderful but to me didn’t feel complete. As you know, I had been thinking of catching the bus to Finisterre, which is symbolically the end of the walk but I was anxious of feeling a little like a tourist and feeling disappointed. Also I was desperate to get my head back into the same space where it had been for much of the walk, before the last 100 kms…when we were inundated with so many others along the way.

So yesterday..I walked again, thought deeply, sang…danced…reflected, immersed myself in this very beautiful part of the walk and had a wonderful, wonderful day : ) Now I can honestly say to you that my Caminos over….although as I write this, there’s tears in my eyes : ) not just tears of sadness but also those of reflection and of warm happy emotions.

20110930-043310.jpg

20110930-043521.jpg
Looking back on the cathedral in Santiago as I walk.

The 22 kms that I walked today was very pretty. Lovely eucalyptus forests, pretty rural lanes, past quite substantial country houses….and up one very steep mountain!! Here I passed some cyclists who were struggling up the hill and joked that this was the one time that the legs were more effective than the wheels : )

20110930-044029.jpg

I stopped in a delightful village,called Pontemaceira and had an an absolutely delicious lunch of Galician style squid on a bed of mashed carrot and potato…it was to die for!

20110930-044458.jpg
The restaurant was positioned beside a simply gorgeous river and beautiful, old bridge. It was absolutely perfect.

As I was leaving, having decided to walk just another 5kms, then stop in the next village and catch the bus back to Santiago…..I ran into Niall and another man, who I hadn’t met before, Karel,from South Africa. He walked very strongly, and had actually walked from Barcelona….I think he said that he had walked over 1300 kms : ) I walked with him for the final 5 kms of my Camino and had a really lovely chat. It was a special way to end this wonderful journey. Hopefully, sometime in the future we will meet again..somewhere….: )

20110930-045706.jpg

Last night I caught up with a few of the wonderful people I have met to have a few drinks and say some final goodbyes.

20110930-045958.jpg

Today….I’m having lunch with Garry…who organised my accommodation and indeed organised me on the trusty mobile on the many occasions when I got a little lost….very hard to do mind you on the Camino, as the arrows are so dominant : ) and then I’m heading out to the airport at 3.30 pm to catch my flight to Mallorca, where I’m meeting my gorgeous girl Ali, for a few days Yay!!!
I think she’s looking forward to a little bit of mothering…and I’m looking forward to giving it : )

Well, my friends…sadly it’s time for me to go. Thank you for reading my ramblings and hopefully you’ve gleaned a little from them, of what this walk was about. Maybe one day, if you haven’t already…you may walk it yourselves. You really should.. : )

Bye for now,

Love and big hugs,

Netia xx

This entry was posted in El Camino Santiago. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Santiago and a little way to Finisterre

  1. Cathy Mellor says:

    Hi Netia,
    I am thrilled for you completing the Camino and feeling complete.
    I have loved every photo and word of your blog, and thankyou so much for sharing it with us.
    Love and hugs,
    Cathy xxx

  2. Liz AARONS says:

    Hi NETIA enjoy the next part of your journey !!!I know how much you will be looking forward to seeing Ali !!I am certainly going to miss reading your wonderful blogs !!!
    Looking forward to seeing you soon !!!!xxxxLiz

  3. carol connolly says:

    BRAVO AMIGO XXX

  4. Julie Hocking says:

    What a perfect ending to such a FANTASTIC experience!!……Rest up and see you soon.
    Love Julie xxx

  5. Alan Lipka says:

    Heh, heh … noooooo, your Camino is not over, Netia. The walking part maybe … for this year anyway … but all of the singing, dancing, and thinking is going to bubble up and spill out and over day after day after day for a long time to come. šŸ™‚

    And I would like to ask for your help in the future as Donna & I prepare to walk the Way together. Staying in albergues was fun for a Father/Son experience, but probably falls a bit short for what I want with my wife. šŸ™‚ Your lodgings were more in line for what we would enjoy.

    Tried to find you on Facebook to no avail. šŸ˜¦ If you feel so inclined, please friend me.

    All the best !

    ~ Alan

    • wheresnetia says:

      Hi Alan!
      Well I found you on facebook…and I’ve invited you to be my friend ….: ) I’m in Mallorca at the moment with one of my gorgeous daughters and as soon as I return to Australia in a weeks time, I’ll send you a msg with all of Garrys details. He was really wonderful! My Facebook page is under my full name Venetia Bowen…that’s why you couldn’t find it : ) thank you for your words of wisdom…I find them very comforting : ) Netia

  6. Louise Dockery says:

    Well I for one will miss logging on every few days to catch up with your great photos, commentary and insights…….inspirational, thanks Venetia, (although you will always be “wheresnetia ” to me now!)
    Have a safe journey home.
    Louise

  7. George says:

    Hi Netia,

    Congratulations on completing your Camino. I came across your name in a chat forum where you were inquiring about staying in alternative accommodations, versus the alberques.

    I have been involved in long-distance walking for about two years. I walked the Wainwright Coast-To-Coast Path across England last year, and this year I completed the Hadrian’s Wall Path. Next year, probably in September and October, I will be walking the Camino Frances. While I respect other choices, I am personally interested in finding accommodations where I can have a private room. For this and other reasons, I would like any advice or recommendations you might have. If you would be willing to answer a few questions, just let me know by email to gwm@goeaston.net. My blog, “Transit Notes,” can be found at http://www.transit-notes.blogspot.net.

    Thanks, and once again, congratulations! I’m sure this was one of the most unforgettable experiences of your life.

  8. George says:

    Sorry, Netia, but I just realized that I gave you the incorrect reference to my blog. I used “net” instead of “com.” The correct URL for my blog is http://transit-notes.blogspot.com.

  9. Vick says:

    Hi Netia,
    I stumbled on your blog by accident and enjoyed it very much. Thank you so much for sharing.
    I plan to do my Camino Walk this September starting from SJDP, if everything goes well, I plan to start my walk on Sept. 4th or thereabouts. I will be travelling alone (kind of nervous doing this on my own) and would very much appreciate any suggestions/recommendations with regard to accommodations along the Camino Way. Did you and/or a tour agency arrange your accommodations.
    Looking forward to hearing from you.
    Buen Camino,
    Vicki

    • wheresnetia says:

      Hi Vick,
      You lucky thing starting the Camino in September! Please don’t be nervous…..you will have an amazing time! I’ll send you an email with more detail very soon.
      I have been so inspired by long distance walking that I’m going to embark on another pilgrims walk, La Via Francigena, in 4 weeks time. This walk goes from Canterbury to Rome : )
      I’ll be in touch very soon,
      Netia

      • Vicki Felix says:

        Thank you for your quick response Netia.
        Wow another journey, eh! Can’t wait to read your blog on your next adventure. How many kms from Canterbury to Rome? Life is great, enjoy while you can. Hopefully we’ll cross paths in one of these journeys.
        By the way, I also sent you a message via FB – so sorry about that. I just wanted to make sure I get connected with you. I am so glad I came across your blog – you are a blessing. I guess Camino is telling me it’s safe to go on my own and that I’ll be home (I hope).
        Thank you again Netia and hopefully this will be the beginning of our friendship.
        Take care.
        Vicki

  10. deanosc85 says:

    Amazing!! I wish I could have seen you dancing down the little path. haha. Congratulations on finishing! šŸ™‚

  11. toad says:

    I have enjoyed very much your blog here, and planning to do the walk in September 2013. I will be happy to have half the advernture and enjoyment you have had.
    Looks like the walking bug has really got to you, I look forward to reading your blog in Italy, and may it inspire me to do the walk there too.
    toad.

  12. Dane says:

    hey there and thank you for your information ā€“ I
    have definitely picked up something new from right here.
    I did however expertise several technical issues using this
    web site, as I experienced to reload the web site many times previous to I could get it to
    load correctly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK?
    Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will often affect your placement in google
    and could damage your high quality score if ads and marketing
    with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to my email
    and can look out for a lot more of your respective
    intriguing content. Make sure you update this again very soon.

Leave a Reply

